“My Perfect Present” – a musical thank-you for Tomy Air Guitar

Well, here’s a Flickr video of me performing a short pastiche song I knocked up last night to say thank you to my friends Stuart and Nadia, who brought me back a Tomy Air Guitar* from Japan for my birthday. It’s quite the best musical toy I’ve had the pleasure of playing since the Stylophone, and really is pretty versatile.

It can handle major and minor chords plus sevenths, arpeggio and capotasto, although the positioning of some of the buttons makes for quite tricky fingering – and it only seems to have one octave, which is also pretty limiting.

As you can see from the video, the instrument does have the disadvantage of stripping the player of all dignity by making it appear one is engaged in a frenetic act of onanism. That said, it could have great potential for live comic performance – although responsiveness seems to be affected by the lighting conditions, so I’m not sure how it would fare on a pub stage.

The video was recorded early this morning before work – hence the blurry-eyed demeanour (I’m not a morning person). Apologies for the shaky “singing” (if you can call it that) and fumbled chord changes. And even bigger apologies to the Undertones, from whose “My Perfect Cousin” I, ahem, ‘liberally borrowed’.

N.B. The out-of-synch audio-video seems to be a problem with the Flickr transcoding – nowt I can do about it, I’m afraid.

* Apparently, these will be on sale in the UK from June, priced at around 15 quid.

[Edit: embedded YouTube version now below]

1 Response to ““My Perfect Present” – a musical thank-you for Tomy Air Guitar”


  1. 1 dmf32835 17 April 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Nice air guitaring man!!!


Leave a comment




Subscribe

Mortlemania is my personal blog. For my professional blog, see http://mortleman.net

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS What am I sharing?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

What am I flickring?

What am I bookmarking?

Add to Technorati Favorites